Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

how to disable photos

I don't want Photos opening when I inserts an SD card. How to prevent this?

I am a full grown person and figure I should be the one deciding what app/program opens when. Never used iPhoto and I have no intention of ever using Photo.

Thanks!

iMac, Mac OS X (10.1.x)

Posted on Apr 20, 2015 8:52 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Apr 20, 2015 9:11 AM

Insert the card and let Photos open and show you the import pane. Then uncheck the box at the top:

User uploaded file

You can also do this with Image Capture (in the Applications Folder)

40 replies

Sep 18, 2015 7:07 PM in response to kdrime

Is there no way to simply turn off Photos permanently for all devices?

Here's my (extremely frustrating) problem: I'm a photographer. I shoot on compact flash cards which I reformat on a regular. Every time I insert a reformatted card into the reader, Apple sees it as a new device... so even though I've unchecked "Open Photos for this device" countless times using the same card, PHOTOS STILL OPENS EVERY SINGLE TIME. I'm starting to think that Apple does these things just to drive people insane...

Nov 24, 2015 1:37 AM in response to konzy

Does this disable Photos altogether, or just keep it from launching when you insert a card. I'd like to uninstall Photos altogether. I only want image files I'm actually working on on this macbook. It only has 120GB disk. I get out of space crashes if I use my photo library on this machine. Wish there was a way to limit which image files it keeps locally without deleting them from all over.