Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

iOS 8.3 bluetooth bug, ugh!!!

So, Apple has done it again with iOS 8.3. I am an aircraft pilot. EVERYTHING I do is on my iPad. I just recently updated to iOS 8.3. Well, I went to take a flight yesterday, and my bluetooth GPS antenna would not connect. (yes, I have paper charts...but it's no fun trying to fly that way.) After 3 reboots, several forget device/connect to device...I got nowhere. Well, I didn't fly that day. However I managed to waste a lot of time going out to the airport, preflighting the airplane, and driving back home that day. I know this sounds like "new world problems". But aren't apple products supposed to "just work"?

Well, I got back home last night and found warnings posted all over every aviation webpage/blog/forum about this bug. It has been confirmed by several companies techies and they have ALL stated that this is an Apple error. Apple has also confirmed this.

sources...

https://seattleavionics.wordpress.com/2015/04/14/ios-8-3-problem-with-bluetooth- gps-and-ads-b-receivers/

http://bad-elf.com/blogs/bad-elf/18013536-alert-compatibility-issue-with-apple-i os-8-3-and-external-gps-receivers

I am now looking for solutions.... Some have downgraded their iPads back to 8.2. I really don't want to have to do this. But many people have blogged that the iOS 8.4 Beta does not fix the issue either. Thanks Apple....

I have all Apple products, and have been an ALL Apple consumer for the past 10 years. But this is unacceptable. Oh , by the way, all the pilots with Android devices are still flying without issue. I never thought I would EVER say this... But if this issue is not fixed VERY soon, I will be shopping for a new android device. I do NOT relish this thought, but every day with the iOS 8.3 bluetooth bug, is a day that I CAN'T FLY WITH GPS!!!!