Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

manage multiple folders add metadata advanced Q

I am not a beginner but iTunes makes me feel like one. I could rant but would rather find a solution and be done with it.

Windows 8 itunes 12

New laptop and fragmented folders full of music on 2 external drives plus lots of newly ripped WAV files on external drive to be imported as MP3.

I am willing to completely remove everything from the laptop and start over if there is a comprehensive method.

This is exasperating to me Im not even sure I can explain it. All advice makes things easy - as long as you let itunes control consolidation of everything and you dont dare move a file around or care about the format. Then you get "what you asked for, but not what you want".

I want all my music into one folder on my laptop, everything in MP3 format, organized in iTunes, so I can use this large library on my portables, and back up easily to its own folder on the external drive, while retaining the formats separately on an external backup. BUT I dont want to import WAV FLAC etc files and then convert to MP3 and then delete duplicates, although I have found a fast workaround. FURTHERMORE I have ripped a lot of my old vinyl, which is in yet another folder on the external drive in WAV format which I want to import directly as MP3, find all songs on same album, and add info manually . There is no metadata, only the song name. I need a way to do this for all xx songs on the same album. My test import of 3 different albums grouped all the songs together with the same date stamp and I cannot tell which belongs to which. Can I at least bring them in orderly to select groups for adding info?

One more thing. There are at least two locations that are being pointed to:

Path : c:\users\Myname\music\itunes\itunesmusic\ AND in a subfolder

C:\users\Myname\music\itunes\itunesmusic\ music (which was fresh stuff added)