Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Get the last playlist of a folder in iTunes

Hi,

I'd like to get the last playlist of a folder playlist in iTunes and integrate it with Automator.

I'm a very beginner in AppleScript but familiar with OOP (ex AS3 dev) so I looked for the doc in script editor where I can see :

folder playlistn [inh. user playlist > playlist > item] : a folder that contains other playlists

So, if I understand well, a folder playlist is an item and I have to get the item 1 of the folder playlist to work with it but after that I don't know what to do.

Here is my script :

on run {input, parameters}
  set folder_p to input

tell application "iTunes"
  set itm to ((item 1) of folder_p)
  end tell

return itm
end run

But itm is exactly the same than folder_p and I don't know how to get the last playlist.

Any idea ? Thx a lot.

Posted on Apr 25, 2015 12:36 PM

4 replies

Apr 26, 2015 12:15 AM in response to Combo

I think you're misinterpreting the inheritance model here. At its lowest level, pretty much everything is an item, but that just gives objects a common framework for giving them names, IDs, classes, etc. You rarely (if ever) directly interact with the item class itself.

In the case of folder playlists, it's not clear to me a) what it is you're trying to do, or b) how you're invoking this (and, by extension, what the input to your Automator action is. However, if I look directly at your question:

I'd like to get the last playlist of a folder playlist in iTunes

That's pretty trivial:

get last folder playlist

end tell