Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How to combine data from different rows?

I'm relatively new to Numbers and think there should be an easy solution for this problem!

I have a huuuuuuuge spreadsheet that looks like this:

User uploaded file

And I want it to be this way:

User uploaded file

So, basically combining data from rows based on the "Title" value being empty. I understand it may be necessary to copy the "Title" value to the empty rows first. I actually did find a solution to do this in MS Excel, but only the Windows version :/

Please help me out! 🙂

Posted on Apr 25, 2015 1:38 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Apr 26, 2015 6:30 AM

Hi Blandine,

Here is one approach. First I did fill the blank "Title" cells. This is how I did that. I put "=A2" in A3 and copied. I used a filter to hide all nonblank column A cells and pasted it into the A column. Re titled the column.

User uploaded file

The formula in D1=IF($A2=$A1,D1&", "&B2,B2)

This is filled down and to the right.

Before you delete the original B and C columns you need to copy columns D and E and Paste Formula Results back into them.

That should do it.

quinn

7 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Apr 26, 2015 6:30 AM in response to Blandine

Hi Blandine,

Here is one approach. First I did fill the blank "Title" cells. This is how I did that. I put "=A2" in A3 and copied. I used a filter to hide all nonblank column A cells and pasted it into the A column. Re titled the column.

User uploaded file

The formula in D1=IF($A2=$A1,D1&", "&B2,B2)

This is filled down and to the right.

Before you delete the original B and C columns you need to copy columns D and E and Paste Formula Results back into them.

That should do it.

quinn

Apr 26, 2015 6:38 AM in response to t quinn

Hey Quinn,

First of all thank you so much for your help!

What am I doing wrong? I'm getting a syntax error (by the way, SE is IF in Portuguese 🙂)