Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

FCP 10.2 issues - overnight multicam clip creation, crashing, beachball, etc

Hi guys,

I'd really appreciate your help here, I'm literally at my wits end.

New Mac user here. Just bought a new iMac (21.5-inch, 2.7GHz quad-core Intel Core i5 Turbo Boost up to 3.2GHz, 8GB (two 4GB) memory, 1TB hard drive, using Yosemite 10.10.3) less than 3 weeks ago with FCP. Started a new documentary project on FCP 10.1 which was going well despite learning curve (last time I used FCP was FCP 7). Went away for a conference for a week. Returned and updated FCP 10.2 on Wednesday Apr 22. Couldn't open up previous library, and despite all efforts, ended up having to start all over again. Unfortunately, since I'm a Mac newbie, I didn't know to back up 10.1.4, so I couldn't uninstall 10.2 and revert to that older version.

I have no plugins, no new fonts installed, nada, the only things installed are programs (Chrome & VLC) so there's nothing I need to uninstall. I don't use Motion, either. Media is being linked via my HD instead of being copied to library, (UPDATE: although for some reason it's taking up all this space):

User uploaded file

Adding media to the library is excruciatingly slow, and creating multicam clips is taking literally forever - I'm talking overnight for a clip of less than 1 hour! I've had to force quit several times, and I'm only creating multicam clips with 2 angles (wide and CU) + audio. I have several more multicam interviews to create and I just don't know what to do. It's slow, I keep getting beachball, and I'm just really confused. Currently a 40 min clip is being created, and has been showing beachball since last night, although when I woke up there was considerable progress. So I don't want to force quit, but this is like 10 hours already!