Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

imac os x 10.8.5 the app store is temporarily unavailable

I've been battling for the last several months an issue with not being able to update my iMac.

The only way to get updates to work is to boot into safe mode.

I've tried so many different suggestions....many regarding spotlight, and nothing has worked.

I'm to the point where I'm ready to format and reload OS X. I really want to get to Yosemite but I don't want this odd problem to come along with the upgrade.

Here is the log from the console when I start the app store and then click update. I sure hope someone can help! Otherwise I am reloading OS X

4/26/15 2:38:49.436 PM App Store[7320]: No alternate URLs found for packageId MobileDevice

4/26/15 2:38:58.224 PM storeagent[223]: CKSoftwareMap: updateRequestBodyData:includeInstalledApps:includeBundledApps:conditionally:had UnadoptedApps:waitUntilMapIsLoaded: timed out waiting for mdSemaphore

4/26/15 2:39:07.079 PM App Store[7320]: CKSoftwareMap: updateRequestBodyData:includeInstalledApps:includeBundledApps:conditionally:had UnadoptedApps:waitUntilMapIsLoaded: timed out waiting for mdSemaphore

4/26/15 2:39:17.155 PM App Store[7320]: CKSoftwareMap: updateRequestBodyData:includeInstalledApps:includeBundledApps:conditionally:had UnadoptedApps:waitUntilMapIsLoaded: timed out waiting for mdSemaphore

4/26/15 2:39:17.593 PM App Store[7320]: FRWebDelegate: Received http status code 500 on response.

4/26/15 2:39:27.221 PM storeagent[223]: CKSoftwareMap: updateRequestBodyData:includeInstalledApps:includeBundledApps:conditionally:had UnadoptedApps:waitUntilMapIsLoaded: timed out waiting for mdSemaphore