Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Personal or company iCloud account on company-owned iPhones?

I work in IT at a small company where some employees have company-purchased iPhones. I was wondering what is the recommended set up for iCloud on these devices? Should they create a personal iCloud account, or should they use an iCloud account created by the company?

Please note we are a small company and do not have the money or resources for an iOS device management solution.

Posted on Apr 29, 2015 6:07 AM

9 replies

Apr 29, 2015 7:39 AM in response to Csound1

So you would recommend using a single company iCloud account and using that on all company-owned devices? What about when the user wants to download apps for personal, non-company use? Those apps might use iCloud to sync settings and data. And what about making sure their contacts are backed up since they can't use iCloud?

Apr 29, 2015 7:53 AM in response to dbird03

dbird03 wrote:

So you would recommend using a single company iCloud account and using that on all company-owned devices?

Yes

dbird03 wrote:

What about when the user wants to download apps for personal, non-company use?

Personally, users should not be downloading personal apps to company owned devices, but that's just the IT Manager in me talking.

dbird03 wrote:

Those apps might use iCloud to sync settings and data. And what about making sure their contacts are backed up since they can't use iCloud?

They can use iCloud. Since the devices would be logged in to the company iCloud account, all backups and and data syncs would happen on the company iCloud account. You don't need to log in to iCloud after the first login really.

Apr 29, 2015 8:30 AM in response to Phil0124