Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Why does my iPhone 5s battery die so quickly?

For a while now the battery on my iPhone 5s has been dying very quickly. At 8:30am it can be at 100% and be completely flat at 5pm the same day. It also gets very hot whilst charging. I am very careful as to when I plug it in and only do so if it is below 10%. Just today I restored it to factory settings but it has not made a difference. According to a battery app I downloaded on the App Store, the average battery life for my phone model is around 22 hours. My phone would struggle to reach 7! I do not use it excessively, as I am only on it every couple of hours. Any help appreciated, as I am new to this page. Thanks in advance.

iPhone 5s, iOS 8.3, iPhone bought last July.

Posted on Apr 30, 2015 11:12 AM

12 replies

Apr 30, 2015 2:59 PM in response to rossandrew

Probably apps running in the background are causing this, sometimes Mail get's stuck connecting to the mail server, or some social media app like Facebook can also be a reason for prolonged background activity.

Try to reset the phone by holding the sleep and home button for about 10sec, until the Apple logo comes back again. You will not lose any data by resetting, but it can cure some glitches.

If this does not help, setting it up as new device would be the next step:

How to erase your iOS device and then set it up as a new device or restore it from backups

Maybe also take a look at this page about battery drainage

Apr 30, 2015 3:18 PM in response to rossandrew