Newsroom Update

Beginning in May, a special Today at Apple series titled “Made for Business” will offer small business owners and entrepreneurs free opportunities to learn how Apple products and services can support their growth and success. Learn more >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

10.6.8 Server Migration to 10.10.x Server - Advice

Hi,

I have reasonably extensive experience of OS X client software but not of the server app and that side of things.

I currently work in a school where we have an aged Mac Mini (2007) running 10.6.8 server. This supports our small OS X client network where we have approx 60 managed iMacs also running 10.6.8. These authenticate at login to our Window AD.

We would like to move these clients to 10.10.x as we would like to start using the latest version of Logic Pro, Final Cut Pro and Garageband but obviously we need the backend infrastructure in place in order to achieve this. As I understand it the 1st step on this road would be getting a server on the network with 10.10.x and Server v4.1 so as to support later client OS versions.

All of the client hardware will support 10.10.x OK but the aged Mac Mini will not. This means I can't do an 'in place' server upgrade and thus have to leave my very small comfort zone!

We have purchased a new Mac Mini which will happily accept 10.10.x and Server 4.1 but I'm really after some advice in terms of the best way to approach a migration (or whatever) to achieve a switch over so I can retire the aged Mac Mini.

My 'theory' is that it should just be a matter of installing 10.10.x and Server 4.1 on the new hardware and using the migration assistant? But what if this goes wrong?

I would of course secure a full bootable backup of the older Mac Mini before even starting but can I just revert back to that machine if, ultimately, the migration/upgrade to the new hardware fails?