Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Using Apple TV in a Large Organization

Good afternoon fellow tech enthusiasts,

I work in IT for a company in the United Kingdom, a few months ago we were given an Apple TV 3 for our department. Now, we didn't see any use for this device at first but it now has a purpose! I plan to deploy the Apple TV into the main boardroom and connect it up to a 70" display on the wall. The TV will then be used by high level employees to mirror images, videos and other relevant multimedia onto the display.

Now the problem is that by connecting the apple device to our network all users are able to see the device (apple tv) on their iPhone's and in turn they're also able to put images etc on the tv. The real problem is that users are able to SEE it on the network.

What I want to know is, is there any way to use it and not have it on our network? We need to use it, but not on the network, is there any way!

(FYI all employees have company iPhones, the Apple TV will only be used by high level employees).

Thanks in advance! 🙂

Posted on May 1, 2015 7:17 AM

12 replies

May 1, 2015 7:42 AM in response to Jaydon.Cherrett

Others may have more elegant solutions, but off the top of my head:

Put the Apple TV on a separate IP subnet. Assign the WiFi on that subnet a unique SSID (different from others used within the company) and password-protect it.

Only give out the password on a need-to-know basis (i.e., to those presenting at a meeting) and change it after each use.

When not in use, unplug it.

May 2, 2015 4:19 AM in response to jjkraw

Thank you for your answer.