Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Using a MacBook for Xcode/IntelliJ?

Hi,

I have a 2009 MacBook Pro. It's been a wonderful machine and I still use it plenty 6 years on. I am, however, in the market for a new laptop.

I have a 27-inch 2012 iMac (i7) at home which is what I do anything that needs a lot of power on. So what I need is a portable, lightweight machine with long battery life that I can do things like web development and application programming on. I am a student and as such most of what I do is in either Java or C (web stuff in Node). I tried a Chromebook earlier on this year and ended up loving it for using tmux/vim to work, but loading up an IDE was not a workable possibility. I loved the fact that 15 hours of battery life coupled with a screen that was clear to see and a half decent keyboard meant I could work nearly anywhere, anytime. I need a Mac though!

So I'm choosing between:

- MacBook 12" 1.3GHz

- MacBook Pro 13" 2.7GHz

Has anyone used the 12" with an IDE and if so, what's it like?

Thanks,

Freddie

iMac (27-inch, Late 2012), OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.3)

Posted on May 2, 2015 3:07 AM

7 replies

May 2, 2015 4:18 AM in response to EOS iPhone 3G 705 WiFi

Hey!