Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Forgot Administrator Password

My son forgot the administrator password for Mac Pro tower computer that he recently acquired. It is model 1186-2113. I have no experience with Apple since my Apple II Plus back in the 80's. When we boot the system we get what I guess is a user login screen with Administrator displayed and a place to enter the password. Mouse works and keyboard works but of course that doesn't help. I have tried holding "apple" key and "s" key simultaneously when booting to go into single user mode (found these instructions for resetting admin password on internet) but then nothing ever displays on screen and the status light on the monitor indicates not connected. Turning monitor off and on has no effect. I checked video card and it is not one of the ones listed for this model of the mac pro. It's an AMD Radeon 6700. Specs for this mac pro model lists Nvidia GE Force 7300 GT as the standard video card. I couldn't find one of these cards but was able to acquire a Nvidia GE Force 7900 GT at a used computer equipment store. Unfortunately, when it is installed and we boot the system the monitor never gets connected. Don't know if I'm barking up the wrong tree with the video card. Would appreciate any help I can get on solving this problem.

Mac Pro, Mac OS X (10.6.8)

Posted on May 2, 2015 6:16 PM

5 replies

May 2, 2015 11:00 PM in response to tomzmac

Whew!!!???

This what you did?

Reset OS X Password Without an OS X CD...

http://theappleblog.com/2008/06/22/reset-os-x-password-without-an-os-x-cd/

Admin Hack...

http://www.hackmac.org/?q=node/4

Starts up like the first time you buy a new Mac, but after filling in all that info again, you should have access to the computer and the other Users & files will still be there... give the new User a different name than an existing one.

Or if you haveInstall Dic...