Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Why can I only use 2.48 GB RAM in Boot Camp (Win 8.1 Pro, 64-bit)?

Hello, I am fairly new to the iMac and I have to use some programs in Windows that are not available for Mac so I set up Boot Camp and installed Windows 8.1.

My iMac is a I7-2600 CPU @ 3.4GHz with 16 GB RAM, system type-bit. Under system in Windows it shows Installed memory (RAM) 16 GB (2.48 GB usable).

I read about this problem and most answers are related to people using 32-bit. So what is wrong in my case, where is the problem?

Thank you in advance for help and suggestions.

iMac, OS X Yosemite (10.10.3)

Posted on May 3, 2015 11:52 AM

195 replies

May 3, 2015 5:14 PM in response to Mortandos

Can you check msconfig in Windows as shown in the linked discussion?

You may also want to look at https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/desktop/aa366796%28v=vs.85%29.a spx?f=255&MSPPError=-2147217396.

What is the year/model of your iMac (my guess is a 2011 iMac)? Can you post the output of the highlighted command from OS X Terminal?

sysctl hw.cpu64bit_capable

hw.cpu64bit_capable: 1

May 4, 2015 7:50 PM in response to Loner T

My Mac: iMac (27-inch, Mid 2011), 3.4 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB 1333 MHz DDR3, AMD Radeon HD 6970M 2048 MB.

Yes, I used EFI Boot, I installed it from a USB stick since my superdrive doesn't read DVD's anymore. I used a lens cleaning disc but it didn't help. Also there is dust under the glass of the screen, I really got one of those iMacs with many issues. But in Mountain Lion and Yosemite I never had any other problems and I never really missed the superdrive.

May 4, 2015 8:04 PM in response to Mortandos