Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How to change default paragraph style in Pages

I'm fairly new to Pages for Mac (I have version 5.5.3), but experienced in page layout generally. I have created a template for a client in which I have created a number of specific paragraph styles. Whenever I create a new text box within this template, Pages applies one of the Header paragraph styles that I created, but the client (understandably) would prefer to have the Body Text paragraph style be the default whenever she creates a new text box. I cannot figure out how to do this. I've tried reorganizing the order of the paragraph styles, but that did not work. Your help is much appreciated.

iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2011), OS X Yosemite (10.10.2)

Posted on May 4, 2015 11:39 AM

7 replies

May 4, 2015 2:04 PM in response to darkmatterknits

I would not be using Pages 5.5.3 for a DTP Layout template for a client.

You can not do most DTP tasks such as Facing Pages or linking text boxes, it will become very confusing and frustrating for the client.

But anyway, why are you not handling this with Placeholder text in preformed Textboxes within your design?

Also I have just tested this and I get Body as the default text Style when I create a Textbox. Even after saving as a template and reopening it.

Peter

May 4, 2015 2:06 PM in response to PeterBreis0807

I wasn't asking for a critique of my design choices. I have very particular reasons for making the choices that I've made (the client wants to lay out her knitting patterns in Pages because that is the software she is accustomed to; she is quite familiar with Pages; the layout needs to be flexible, so I cannot use preformed textboxes, etc.).

I'm glad to hear that you get Body as the default text style when you create a textbox. However, I do not.