Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Macbook Pro Safari Yosemite not playing videos!

OS X Yosemite

Version 10.10.3

MacBook Pro (Retina, Mid 2012)

Processor 2.3 GHz Intel Core i7

Memory 8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3

This is my first time using the forums as I can't resolve this issue myself, I'm no computer expert. 😟

Problem:

1. I usually use sites such as Novamov, VideoWeed, Moveshare, Nowvideo, Vodlocker etc to catch up on TV shows that I have missed. For instance I wanted to watch Orphan Black from http://watchseries-online.ch/episode/orphan-black-s03e01 and it takes me to a site to watch it.
  2. I've used these before and never had any issue from them until 3 days ago when I went and none of the videos on any show on any of the websites would play. It would just be a black empty screen where the video would be with 0% constantly.
  3. (Also today I've noticed that youtube videos sometimes black out in the middle of them and still play the audio but not the video but that may be unrelated)

Things I've tried:

• I've tried using chrome from my Macbook too and I'm still having the same issue.
  • I tried going to exactly the same videos on my friend's laptop who was running Windows Firefox and the videos played fine on her computer.
  • I have tried uninstalling Flash Player and updating it to the most recent version and also Java.
  • There are no updates available for my software in the AppStore.
  • Videos on Facebook work.

Please help! Thank you! 🙂

MacBook Pro with Retina display, OS X Yosemite (10.10.3)

Posted on May 5, 2015 7:06 AM

3 replies

May 5, 2015 9:25 AM in response to hayleyheartline

1. System Preferences > Flash Player > Advanced > Delete All

Press the "Delete All" button under “Browsing Data and Settings”.

Install Adobe Flash Player.

http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/

Download it first.

The next step is important.

Click Safari in the menubar and select “Quit Safari”.