Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

can i back up my internal hard drive AND my external hard drive to time capsule?

I am a photographer who uploads my photos to an external hard drive. Can I configure the 3TB airport extreme to back up BOTH my internal and external hard drive?

Posted on May 6, 2015 5:27 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on May 6, 2015 6:33 AM

If you are asking about using Time Machine to back up, yes you can do this......IF.....the external drive is connected directly to your Mac via a USB or FireWire connection.

10 replies

May 6, 2015 8:10 AM in response to 1kwords

Sure, first your Mac has to be setup to back up to the Time Capsule before you can add the external drive to be backed up.

Is your Mac already backing up using Time Machine, or have you not yet set up the Mac to back up using Time Machine?

Important note.....I am assuming that the external drive has already been formatted the same as your Mac.....in Mac OS Extended (Journaled), since the drive must be in this format for Time Machine to be able to back it up. Am I assuming correctly in this regard?

May 6, 2015 11:19 AM in response to 1kwords

Then, you will need to use another application to handle your backups. Something like Carbon Copy Cloner, SuperDuper or Chronosync.

Each of these applications will automatically back up your Mac and external drive on a schedule that you choose.

Everything will be copied over on the first backup, and then after that, only the changes that have occurred since the last backup on your Mac or the external will be backed up.

May 6, 2015 3:05 PM in response to 1kwords

1kwords wrote:

I am not yet using Time Machine (shame on me!). And the external drive is formatted for Mac.

You can start using TM.. and you can then include the external drive.. it will be in the exclude list by default.. simply remove it from exclude and it will be included.