Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Can I record a fresh vocal in a GarageBand project after sharing the master track?

Hello to all! I have made a project in GB using a music track on one track and recording my voice on another. After I'd done with recording I clicked on add track and selected Master track, and it appeared. After adding compressor effects I clicked upon share and got the output.

Now my question/s are these:

Can I delete or mute the vocal track and add another track to the existing project? [I had done this vocal in Hindi and intend to sing an English version of the song].

If this can be done, how can I delete the compressor effects and other changes I had made. Can this be done or need I to create a fresh project?

FYI, I have very little knowledge of what I am doing in GarageBand and I may not be also knowing what I am asking!

Regards and take care.

Dr. Somanna

iMac, OS X Yosemite (10.10.1), garage band, FCPX:10.2, iPhone 5,

Posted on May 9, 2015 10:57 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on May 10, 2015 2:42 AM

I recommend to make a copy of the finished project before you proceed. You can simply duplicate it in the finder.

Can I delete or mute the vocal track and add another track to the existing project?

• You can add more tracks to any finished projects. Just open the "Tracks" menu and click "New Track". Select a template for an Audio Track - with the microphone icon.
  • To delete the old vocal track select it and use "Tracks > Delete Track". Or mute the track by clicking the speaker icon in the track header.
    User uploaded file
    If this can be done, how can I delete the compressor effects and other changes I had made. Can this be done or need I to create a fresh project?