Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Restore sych between iTunes and my Touch 4th gen

I am really baffled. Just bought a 4th gen Touch ipod from someone. Downloaded most recent iTunes. Started inserting CD's and putting into iTunes library. If I went into Windows Explorer in MS Windows 7, I could see an icon that said ipod. And when I plugged in the ipod, Itunes and the ipod synched. Then when I attempted to sych some playlists--no more synching--even tho' I could still see the ipod icon on the computer. Device Sych is greyed out in the iTunes menu. So then I tried uninstalling and re-installing Itunes, but this thing is going from bad to worse--no more ipod icon showing on my computer. I've tried everything I saw to try online--just need some step by step directions cuz' I don't have a clue what to try. Even tried Copy Trans instead of iTunes--so far haven't gotten that to work either. I'm new to ipods & don't know much about them. What can I do? If I do system restore, it will erase everything currently in the ipod, right? Is there a way to save the files?

Posted on May 15, 2015 3:36 PM

3 replies

May 16, 2015 1:39 AM in response to dreamcatcherco

You can only sync with one computer. It appears that the computer was synced with another computer.

Any media that was on the purchased iPod did not transfer with the iPod.

Go to Settings>General>Reset>Erase all content and settings. The setup the iPod with your ID and media.

Then as necessary:

iOS: Device not recognized in iTunes for Mac OS X

Or

See

iPhone, iPad, or iPod not recognized in iTunes for Windows

- I would start with

Removing and Reinstalling iTunes, QuickTime, and other software components for Windows XP

or

Removing and reinstalling iTunes and other software components for Windows Vista, Windows 7, or Windows 8