Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Can you buy an iphone 6 without a data plan?

I want an iphone 6 but I can't buy a plan for it right now. I can I buy one without any sort of data plan and still use it? Will it still be only $200?

iPhone 6

Posted on May 16, 2015 8:45 PM

8 replies

Aug 5, 2017 9:51 AM in response to Michael Black

I'm relatively new to owning an iPhone. My post is accurate today and that was the case in Spring of 2016, when I activated my iPhone SE.

The AT&T Prepaid plan (known as GoPhone until recently) is mostly for dumb phones, but is compatible with any unlocked phone.

It seems Apple began selling unlocked iPhones in the fall of 2015, so the May 2015 post was probably accurate at the time.

May 17, 2015 6:44 AM in response to just wondering...

In the USA you can buy a 16GB iPhone 6, carrier unlocked and without a service contract, for $649.00 plus tax at any Apple Store (a 16GB iPhone 6+ is $749.00 plus tax, and increasing the storage to 64GB or 128GB increases that base price).

If you want a discounted price, then you will have to buy a discounted phone and that means accepting some form of service contract with a carrier. But yes, for the full retail price, you can buy an unlocked iPhone 6 or 6+ without a service contract.

You can easily find out the local prices for your country by simply going to the Apple web store for your country - those prices are the same as you'll get at a retail Apple Store.

Of course, until you do add service to one, it will effectively be a wifi-only device. To get cellular telephone and cellular data service, you will have to set up service with a carrier (either contract service or pay as you go, but you'll need service with a carrier for cellular data, text and voice features).