Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Used 2009 13 inch MacBook Pro cost

I am considering buying the 2009 13 inch MacBook Pro that I've been using for the last 6 years from my company. When I asked them how much they would sell it for they told me that they could sell it for $400 after removing all licensed software (ie. Microsoft Office Suite). This seems rather expensive to me given that the computer has all original hardware and is not refurbished. However, I did have to have a new screen installed last year. I've tried to find a benchmark price, but there doesn't seem to be anything out there. Thoughts??? Thanks!

MacBook, Mac OS X (10.6.8)

Posted on May 19, 2015 1:13 AM

3 replies

May 19, 2015 1:59 AM in response to Kristen416

You'd have to correctly identify the exact build model year and specification in order to attempt

to locate a current resale price estimate; even using ebay sales or amazon affiliate stores as a

price guide, will often be inadequate or inaccurate, if these variables are not considered as part

of the overall estimated resale price. For example, the use of "2009" when looking into 13-inch

MacBook Pro specifications, brings up many different build spec models, some are configured

to order (custom versions from Apple) while others are models in the lineup.

If your comparison model is known as MacBook Pro (13-inch, Mid 2009) then that would be a

place to look; since there are other specs regarding the build model information such as found

in MacTracker, etc online or other databases. From mactracker:

Introduced June 2009

Discontinued April 2010

Model Identifier MacBookPro5,5

Model Number A1278

EMC 2326

Order Number MB990LL/A (2.26 GHz), MB991LL/A (2.53 GHz)

Built-in Memory None

Maximum Memory 8.0 GB

Memory Slots 2 - 204-pin PC3-8500 (1066 MHz) DDR3 SO-DIMM

Minimum Speed --

Interleaving Support Yes

Upgrade Instructions