Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Is the app "clean my Mac" by Macpaw safe to use?

I have heard that the CleanMyMac app by MacPaw should not be used to clean up memory on my Mac.. Is this fact?

iMac, Mac OS X (10.6.8)

Posted on May 20, 2015 10:48 AM

12 replies

Dec 8, 2017 6:17 AM in response to MichelPM

Hi Michel,

I just read this thread since my mom downloaded clean my mac and got us in this pickle. Can you please tell me how I can manually clean off the mac so as to avoid this malware issue. I will of course delete the cleaning program as well. Sorry, I am a beginner. This might seem intuitive to most, but again I'm a beginner.

Thanks in advance.

May 20, 2015 11:08 AM in response to allenfromhuntsville

It is considered malware by many experience users on these forums. OS X does not require any cleaning, antivirus or third party maintenance apps. All that is needed to keep OS X safe is a little common sense.

The common sense part!

• Never use a torrent site to download.
  • If you receive an ad, pop-up, e-mail or phone call advising your computer has been compromised, this is a SCAM only intended to take your money.
  • Keep OS X up-to-date. NOTE: Apple has ceased development of security updates on OS X Snow Leopard 10.6.8, if you want to keep OS X up-to-date consider upgrading to Mavericks 10.10.x.

May 20, 2015 10:57 AM in response to allenfromhuntsville

Don't touch it. You don't need it. It will do more harm than good. The same goes for any other application claiming it will 'clean up' your Mac or improve performance. They are all crap.

There are a very few exceptions, however, those need to be used with great care and are really nothing more than a GUI front end to standard UNIX utilities that are already built into OS X.

May 20, 2015 11:22 AM in response to allenfromhuntsville