Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Macbook 5.1 windows 8 install problem

Hello everyone,

I am new to this forum and am looking for some help. I am an engineering student and solving this problem is essential to me getting some homework done.

Problem:

After going through the steps below and rebooting to start installing windows, I get a black screen with "Non-system disk, press any key to reboot" on it. The computer is unresponsive.

Procedure so far:

Downloaded legitimate .iso install file of windows 8 from the internet.

Modified bootcamp info.plist assistant to allow use of windows 8 disk image and to allow showing of 'create disk' option

Installed this .iso file onto a USB 2.0 HDD enclosure (60 gb i think) using boot camp assistant

everything appears fine, computer reboots and then shows error message

Hardware specs:

Macbook 5,1-Yosemite OSX (2008 aluminum model)

2 ghz processor

Crucial 256 gb ssd

4 gb crucial ram

Please help!

Posted on May 21, 2015 8:10 PM

6 replies

May 22, 2015 4:46 AM in response to Treewilly

Your Mac does not support installing Windows using USB. Modifying Info.plist enables the USB creation option, but cannot address what BC Assistant directs the NVRAM settings to be before passing control to the installer.

1. Does your internal Optical drive function?

2. Can you burn the ISO to a blank DVD - Disk Utility (Yosemite): Burn a disk image to a CD or DVD ? Please ensure that the speed of the burn is the same as supported by the physical media, otherwise you will get block errors on the DVD.

3. Use the physical DVD and BCA to install Windows.