Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Invert values y axis in the scatter plot

I'm trying inverting values of the Y axis in a scatter plot. I always do it when using Microsoft Office. I'm a geologist, the most of the graphics I realize starts from the ground surface and then goes deep, so for me is fundamental to set the origin on top left.

How can I do it?

Thanks, kind regards

Fabio

iMac late 2013, OS X Yosemite 10.10.3

Posted on May 24, 2015 11:47 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on May 25, 2015 10:18 AM

Gord,

Please post a screenshot of an example chart.

Here is an example where I entered Y data in column C. Column B computes -1 x value in column C:

User uploaded file

Only including Y' (the negative version) looks like this:

User uploaded file

If you want to revers the axis, swap the columns X and Y' in the source table... like this:

15 replies

May 25, 2015 11:59 AM in response to Gord78

Hi everyboby,

thanks for the answers. But I really need to show positive values.

For those who work investigating the underground depths is positive by convention 🙂

That's a pumping test I realized in a well.

This is what I have:

User uploaded file

This is what I need:

(made with Open Office, just one click on the "scale" section)

User uploaded file

Regards,

Fabio.

May 26, 2015 5:34 AM in response to Gord78

Hi Fabio,

I know what you are trying to do (as a once-upon-a-time Soil Scientist, I often had to graph values versus depth where depth is positive 😉. I used Excel and S-plus.

User uploaded file

In Numbers, that graph took much more than 'just one click'.

Here is what is hidden behind the curtain:

User uploaded file

Tables to hold the Value Labels. They can be dynamic (refer to the data table) but stretching the tables to fit the graph is a pain. As the data change, the tables must be resized.