Newsroom Update

Beginning in May, a special Today at Apple series titled “Made for Business” will offer small business owners and entrepreneurs free opportunities to learn how Apple products and services can support their growth and success. Learn more >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Installed OS X server but cannot login online. My admin setup password does not work.

I'm brand new to the OS X server that I installed on my new iMac. I am running Yosemite 10.10.3 (Latest update) and 8 GB's of RAM. When I try to go online to login from the app. it asks for a password and username that only works if I use diradmin as the username. However, It also says that I do not have the proper permissions to go any further after my password works with that username.

It is strictly for home use and not a business so I don't really even need the server but I am a curious type and tend to dive into the water to see how deep it is. Again, I have never used a server before so I thought I should learn, at least, how a server works and $19.00 is cheaper than going back to college.

iMac, OS X Yosemite (10.10.1)

Posted on May 24, 2015 8:55 PM

6 replies

May 25, 2015 1:09 AM in response to TcrowRB67

Hi,

Use your local credentials of your current user on your iMac. That will work to get the server.app going.

It is the same account you use to install software on your mac, any other account like diradmin might be created in the process of starting the server.app, but is not an active user yet because there is no open directory master yet, where the diradmin resides.

Start with this documentation to get started right:

https://help.apple.com/serverapp/mac/4.0/?lang=en

then proceed with more advanced sections:

https://help.apple.com/advancedserveradmin/mac/4.0/

Goodluck

Jeffrey

May 26, 2015 9:27 AM in response to jepping