Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Backups: iCloud or AirPort Time capsule?

I have a 3 yr old MacBookAir, going on 4, and have overly trusted it until now. I now have over 150 GB I really don't want to risk losing. Any help in choosing cloud vs airport?

I am not an expert, so one of my requirements is an easy to use backup which allows me to "recreate" my computer, files and settings, on a new machine or after reinstalling iOS on this one.

MacBook Air (11-inch Mid 2011), OS X Yosemite (10.10.3)

Posted on May 27, 2015 2:07 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on May 27, 2015 3:49 AM

I recommend an external drive.. plug it into your MBA, and do two kinds of backup..

So with a 2TB drive.. nice small USB 3 2.5" type.. partition it in disk utility to 2x 1TB.. an air with USB3 ports it will fly.

On the main partition create a carbon copy cloner, clone of your drive.. that will give you instant boot replacement of the internal drive.

And use Time Machine for the second partition which is more useful for Migration Assistant to move your files to a new computer with next OS.

Cloud is expensive and slow.. you cannot boot from it.

TC is expensive and unreliable.. and much more hassle with network backups than local backups. Nor can you boot from it.

I present as one opinion only.. clearly for some people cloud works and for others TC works. But the fastest cheapest and reliablest is external drive.

Cloud can be used for when you are on the move.. away from home etc. just to backup the difference between last backup ..

7 replies
Question marked as Best reply

May 27, 2015 3:49 AM in response to Voyager-in-Gale