Newsroom Update

Beginning in May, a special Today at Apple series titled “Made for Business” will offer small business owners and entrepreneurs free opportunities to learn how Apple products and services can support their growth and success. Learn more >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Server related questions

Hey guys,

I'm setting up a OS X server at work so we can have a local shared drive for storage. I had a few questions since it's my first time working with OS X servers.

• I see we can add users to login to access the shared drive. Should we have an account for each user, or all share one account? If we all share one account or multiple people share an account does that cause issues with crashing or interrupting of file transfers?
  • Is there a way to make sure when copying a file and the drive disconnects or something that none of the files being transferred or moved will become corrupt?
  • The server is going to be running on a mac mini with 4GB ram and connected to a time capsule for storage. Is there specs for the machine that we should be looking at? We have about 20 employees who will be accessing the server to store, move, and transfer files between their machine onto the server from inside the office, as well as from home if they wish.
  • Is there an easy way to run nightly backups of all the files onto another drive or HDD? For example at lets say 1am every night it transfers new/modified files to an HDD?

Posted on May 27, 2015 9:50 AM

9 replies

May 27, 2015 5:05 PM in response to BrandonRhino

Welcome to the fold.

I see we can add users to login to access the shared drive. Should we have an account for each user, or all share one account? If we all share one account or multiple people share an account does that cause issues with crashing or interrupting of file transfers?