Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Safari extension: execute bookmarklet-url

Hey there,

I am new to Safari development and would be happy if you can help me.

I try to build a extension of a bookmarklet-url (OneNote) so I would be able to have a button in Safari – and not only a bookmark in favorites bar. But I am too silly to understand how to execute this bookmarklet-url in javascript. I tried currentTab.url but it does not work. If I click on the new shiny button nothing happens.

Which code I have to use, that the bookmarklet-url is executed – just as the link in the favorites bar works.

Link in the favorites bar:

javascript:(function(){var%20jsCode=document.createElement('script');jsCode.setAttribute('src','https://www.onenote.com/Clipper/Root?ClipperId=ON-45519f6d-f536-4649-8856-5e4157dffe10&ClipperType=Bookmarklet&ClipperVersion=2.0.2');jsCode.setAttribute('id','oneNoteCaptureRootScript');jsCode.setAttribute('type','text/javascript');document.body.appendChild(jsCode);})()

global.html

<!DOCTYPE html>
<html>
  <head>
  <title>Microsoft OneNote Clipper</title>
  <script type="text/javascript" charset="utf-8">
  // register with application
  safari.application.addEventListener("command", performCommand, false);

function performCommand(event) {
  if (event.command === "clip-onenote") {
  // Run OneNote Clipper
  (function(){
  var jsCode = document.createElement('script');
  jsCode.setAttribute('src','https://www.onenote.com/Clipper/Root?ClipperId=ON-45519f6d-f536-4649-8856-5e4157dffe10&ClipperType=Bookmarklet&ClipperVersion=2.0.2');
  jsCode.setAttribute('id','oneNoteCaptureRootScript');
  jsCode.setAttribute('type','text/javascript');
  document.body.appendChild(jsCode);
  })()
  }
  }
  </script>
  </head>
  <body>
  </body>
</html>

Thank you very much for your help! 🙂

MacBook Air (13-inch Mid 2012), OS X Yosemite (10.10.3), Safari

Posted on May 27, 2015 11:38 AM

3 replies