Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Why are podcasts still on my PC

I've been listening to podcasts on my iPod Touch for a few years now and only recently noticed that there was a lot of space being used up on my PC. To my astonishment, I discovered that there are copies of all the podcasts I've ever listened to residing on my PC. I can go through and delete them all by hand but what the heck are they doing there in the first place? I have my settings to "delete unplayed podcasts" in iTunes, so I don't understand why they have not been deleted.

I've searched online for someone having a similar problem, but so far I can't find anyone with the same problem. I'm using iTune 12.1.2.27 (64-bit) and I've got an iPod Touch 5G. I had a 4G and recently replaced it with the 5G. Not sure why the device setting in my posting is showing an old iOS, but I do have iOS 8 on my iPod.

Alice in Illinois

iPod touch, iOS 5.0.1

Posted on May 29, 2015 5:58 PM

3 replies

May 30, 2015 1:35 AM in response to janeway1980

Perhaps you have misread the instruction. After all, if you really did have your iTunes set to to delete all unplayed podcasts, how would get any podcast into iTunes in the first place?

janeway1980 wrote:

I have my settings to "delete unplayed podcasts" in iTunes, so I don't understand why they have not been deleted.

That said, there are a couple of things you need to consider:

1. For a Podcast to be classed as "played", and therefore ready for deletion, it has to run through to the end of the episode. If you stop the epsiode with one second left to play, then it hasn't been "played" (fully) so will not be deleted.
  2. If you listen to the Podcasts on your portable device (iPod/iPhone etc.) then you need to use Sync to manage that device so that the "episode played" information is transferred back to your iTunes Library.

May 30, 2015 3:26 PM in response to the fiend