Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

I suspect my iMac has been infected by a virus/trojan/worm/spyware. How can I search the hard drive

Was browsing Google to try & find someone to design a webpage. I clicked on a link & all kinds of things flashed up on the screen saying my computer was infected & **** had been added!!!!! I immediately turned off my internet connection & shut down my iMac.

My system is slow to turn on, tasks take longer to do & everything feels sluggish.

I'm fairly new to using Apple after 25yrs of using PC/Windows and am clueless as to how to search & clean the system.

Thanks in advance for any help.

iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2011), Mac OS X (10.7.5)

Posted on May 29, 2015 7:09 PM

12 replies

May 29, 2015 7:12 PM in response to CK64

It's not a virus. It's a Web scam that only affects your browser, and only temporarily. There are several ways to recover.

1. Some of those scam pages can be dismissed very easily. Press the key combination command-W to close the tab or window. A huge box will pop up. Press the return key and both the box and the page will close. If that doesn't happen, continue.

2. Press and hold command-W. You may hear repeating alert sounds. While holding the keys, click the OK button in the popup. A different popup may appear, which you can cancel out of as usual.

3. From the Safari menu bar, select

Safari ▹ Preferences... ▹ Security

and uncheck the box marked Enable JavaScript. Leave the preferences dialog open.

Close the malicious window or tab.

Re-enable JavaScript and close the preferences dialog.