Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Smart Albums - Any, All, Cascaded Conditions?

Hey everyone,

I've been using iPhoto for many years and have organized my library mostly with Smart Albums. Typically I would have a smart album by month, and then an album for high rated pictures by month. For the second album, there would be two conditions; the first would obviously be a date range, and the second would be "Higher than 2 Stars". This was a simple, effective way to find the best pictures by date.

Now with the change to "Photos", I'm kinda stuck. There are no more ratings, they're now keywords. As in, anything that was rated 4 Stars before now has a keyword of "4 Stars" attached to the photo. At a glance, this seemed like an OK substitution. However now I've got a problem with all my smart albums because the condition "Higher than 2 Stars" no longer exists.

So I can still create the first date condition easily. However, I can't create a condition like this:

Date [AND] 3 Stars [OR] 4 Stars [OR] 5 Stars.

It appears that the conditions are either ANY or ALL conditions with no nesting, such as available with iTunes Smart Playlists.

Has anyone come up with a workaround for this?

Thanks.....

MacBook Pro, OS X Yosemite (10.10.3)

Posted on May 30, 2015 7:19 AM

5 replies

May 30, 2015 7:28 AM in response to fatnecks

No, there are no nested smart rules, only all or any.

• You could apply all ratings (1 star, 2 star, 3 star, 4 star, 5 star,) to your 5 star photos, so that 5 star photo will respond to a 3 star search as well.
  • And 1 star, 2 star, 3 star, 4 star) to your 4-star photos.

Then you can ask for the date range and the rating 3 star.

Jun 1, 2015 9:03 AM in response to léonie

léonie wrote:

No, there are no nested smart rules, only all or any.