Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Problems with recording an external instrument in Logic

Hi guys,

I'm new to the use of external instruments and I've figured out a lot over the past period but I'm a bit stuck now so I'm very much in need of your help!

For your information my setup is as follows:

- Macbook 15" 2012 version

- Motu 828 MK3 hybrid

- Bass station II (hardware synthesizer) (connected to MOTU via Audio cable and to Macbook with USB)

- Logic Pro 9

My main issues are:

1. I can not 'bounce' the sounds from my external instrument.

- I can record midi notes from the Bass station synth, I can play these sounds back, but I can not export this. I however do not have this issue when I record via an Audio track in logic (track setup as audio - instead of a software instrument).

2. I can not record different sounds from my Bass station in Logic.

- The synthesizer has a variety of sounds / patches but I can only work with one sound. When I add a new track, I can only work with the same sound / patch that I had on the first track. If I change the sound / patch this will automatically also change for the first track.

Really hope you guys can help me out!

Thanks!

Sander

MacBook Pro

Posted on May 30, 2015 7:44 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on May 30, 2015 7:57 AM

I can not 'bounce' the sounds from my external instrument.

Bounce using Track in Place after recording the midi track.... so you end up with an Audio recording of the midi track...

https://documentation.apple.com/en/logicpro/usermanual/index.html#chapter=9%26se ction=21%26tasks=true

Then mute the Midi track.. so only the new audio track is playing....

I can not record different sounds from my Bass station in Logic.

This is because the Bass Station does not support Multitimbral mode.... so it can only play one sound at a time... Nothing you can do about this. It's a hardware limitation of the Bass Station II