Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Mask moving fingers so they appear in front of horizontal panel

See attached.

I have imported a clip which has a horizontal rectangle panel at the bottom of the screen.

When the person above the rectangle moves his hand and fingers down to the bottom of the screen, the fingers become obscured by the panel above it.

Is there a clearcut, simple masking technqiue to make the fingers show ABOVE the rectangle, creating the illusion that he is moving only that body part over the rectangle.

I am new to masking and its not clear to me whether its possible to track the movement of the fingers at the point it intersects and vanishes behind the panel.

Appreciate any guidance.

Thanks

Jason

MacBook Pro, OS X Yosemite (10.10.3)

Posted on May 30, 2015 6:24 PM

21 replies

Jun 1, 2015 7:35 AM in response to silverscape23

If you have footage of the fingers, it's easy. You draw a mask around the fingers and create a new keyframe for the masks for every frame. Tedious. But easy.

However, your screenshot seems to indicate the fingers pass behind the green card. You cannot remove the card to reveal the fingers.

Ten years ago a coworker asked if I could help her edit a soccer game in which her daughter scored a goal. Another parent stood up in front of the camera just as the kick was executed. My friend said, "You can edit that guy out, right? So I can see my girl kick the goal, right? I mean, it's digital, right?"

Jun 1, 2015 7:40 AM in response to David Bogie Chq-1

Thanks David.

I did try using a mask and using anchor points and using a starting and ending keyframes but it did not work.

You are correct the fingers move behind the panel. I add the panel over the moving fingers. Is there some other way to do this? I know the affect is possible I have seen it done several times on the web but I suppose maybe they were using AE or Apple Motion?