Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How can I easily change the 'created' date on MANY hundreds of scanned photos?

I recently completed a project scanning seven photo albums worth of pictures and negatives onto my PC, and then transferred them to my MacBook. My problem is that the dates the photos were created are nowhere near the dates they were actually taken. Is there an easy way to change the date created (perhaps somehow OUTSIDE of iPhoto)? I'm fairly new to Apple, I'm hoping to find out that there is a way to edit the dates similar to the way you can in Windows Explorer. Alternatively, if I would just keep the dates created as they are, is there a simple way to organize them so they at least APPEAR to be in chronological order with all my other photos?

MacBook Pro with Retina display, OS X Mavericks (10.9.2)

Posted on May 31, 2015 2:49 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on May 31, 2015 3:17 PM

In photos you can select several photos at once and adjust the date by shifting it by a fixed increment.

From the Image menu > Adjust Date and time.

That would help, if you scanned your photos in chronological order.

You could also try to run a script to change the date and time of several photos to a fixed time, see this user tip.

Photos for Mac: Batch Change the Date and Time to a Fixed Date

9 replies
Question marked as Best reply

May 31, 2015 3:17 PM in response to Beezner

In photos you can select several photos at once and adjust the date by shifting it by a fixed increment.

From the Image menu > Adjust Date and time.

That would help, if you scanned your photos in chronological order.

You could also try to run a script to change the date and time of several photos to a fixed time, see this user tip.

Photos for Mac: Batch Change the Date and Time to a Fixed Date

Jun 3, 2015 7:50 PM in response to léonie