Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Rototilled AT&T Cable - TC doesn't work after new connection.

We have AT&T for phone, internet & tv. The time capsule was working fine until we rototilled the garden severing the cable.

A new cable was put in and now the TC does nothing but blink yellow.

The AT&T guy originally set us up like this...modem downstairs, our TC is upstairs with the computer. I didn't want wires through the floor so we have a huge plug that says PlugLink on it which is plugged into the wall. Plugged into that is a ethernet cable which goes to our TC. No wires directly to the computer.

How do I fix this? I need very basic instructions. I'm not very good at this stuff. Thank you.

Posted on Jun 1, 2015 10:06 AM

3 replies

Jun 1, 2015 2:06 PM in response to ballroomdiva

I didn't want wires through the floor so we have a huge plug that says PlugLink on it which is plugged into the wall. Plugged into that is a ethernet cable which goes to our TC. No wires directly to the computer.

Follow Tom's advice upstairs.. plug a computer by ethernet into the PlugLink.. and see if the computer works.. if not then make sure the pluglink wall adapter is also plugged into the ATT router downstairs.. power cycle both of them to make sure.. once the computer picks up an address.. then you can plug in the TC again and it should work.

If you cannot get the pluglink working buy a replacement set. Or get a computer technician to the house to help you.. think of it as a washing machine.. when it breaks down you call a repairman.. I am at a loss as to why people cannot call a tech for computer issues.. The big lie is that networking is easy.. it is not easy.. an expert is trained for a few years to do it..

If your computer works ok.. reset the TC to factory and start over.. any changes to the network require this.

Start from a factory reset. No files are lost on the hard disk doing this.