Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Time Machine Server not accessible after 24 hours

I have a client I visit once a week. I inherited this setup, so I'm still learning the ins and outs of this particular network. They have two keys servers.

• Mac Pro(Running Mt. Lion and Server 2.2.5). This is their main server, OD, File Sharing, etc. I don't think the main server is relevant to the problem, just explaining the basic setup of the network.
  • Macbook Pro(Running Mav and Server 3.2.2). This machine is solely for Time Machine. This server also has a 4TB external drive via FW800.
  • Clients are all on Mavericks with various different hardware(iMac and MBP mostly).

So my issue is all client are pointing to the Macbook running the Time Machine service(TM Server). When I'm there, I reboot the TM server and everyone is able to connect, no problem. I check back later in the day, everyone is still connecting. Next day same deal. However sometime around the post 24 hour mark, the TM server is no longer accessible. So next week I'll come back and everyone's backups are 5 and 6 days old. I can log into the TM Server, fire up server. Nothing changes. Not until I reboot. After reboot, it doesn't matter if I log in or not(I believe). They all can connect and backup for another ~24hours.

• I have verified energy setting never put this TM server to sleep.
  • I have run sudo defaults write /Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration/autodiskmount AutomountDisksWithoutUserLogin -bool true

Nothing has alleviated the issue. Any other suggestions?

Thanks,

Mike

Posted on Jun 16, 2015 10:15 AM

6 replies

Jun 17, 2015 4:39 PM in response to Buschman007