Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Basic Qyestions

I am just getting started with Yosemite Server and need some help with some basic questions.

1. I am running the server on an old MacBook Pro and due to the limited HDD size, I would like all of the data folders to reside on attached HDDs attached to the MBP. How do I set it up so that the client Users don't have to navigate to the folders each time but will just go right to the folders?

2. I would like each user to have a private folder that only they see and have access to a shared folder so all users can share files on the network. How do I make it to both folders attach to the client when they log into their client machines? is it just adding two LogIn items? Will the two folders appear in the Finder Sidebar?

3. Is there a way to run applications within Server. For example, if I want a networked version of Plex, where would I installit, in a folder within the Server or on the MBP outside of the Server?

I'm sure I;ll have more questions as I get into this but these should get me started.

Thanks,

David

Posted on Jun 25, 2015 1:35 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jun 25, 2015 7:25 PM

Welcome to the fold. I hope Yosemite and beyond provides you with your needed requirements.