Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Time Capsule connection to MediaCom Net Gear MOCa

I had a MacBook Air (OSx 10.10.3) connected to a wireless Apple Time Capsule and everything worked fine.

Last weekend MediaCom upgraded my TV to TIVO and now Time Capsule no longer connects. I've read many of the Support Community discussions but I'm not technical. One of the posts mentioned a Net Gear. I've confirmed that MediaCom added a Net Gear MOCa to my CISCO box when they installed TIVO.

1. Could this be the problem?

2. If so, is there an easy fix (for a non-technical grandma)?

3. If not, does Apple have a newer product that will work with this Net Gear?

Thank you.

Apple Time Capsule-OTHER, Net Gear MOCa

Posted on Jun 30, 2015 6:49 AM

4 replies

Jun 30, 2015 1:13 PM in response to Vicki1267

What is the model number of the cisco? What is the model number of the Netgear?

It sounds like they have replaced your TC which was working as router with another box which controls media and sends it over cable.

What you will need to do is factory reset the TC and run it in router mode.

In the most simple terms here is what you need to do.

1. Factory reset the TC.. no files are lost doing this.

Factory reset universal

Power off the TC.. ie pull the power cord or power off at the wall.. wait 10sec.. hold in the reset button.. be gentle.. power on again still holding in reset.. and keep holding it in for another 10sec. You may need some help as it is hard to both hold in reset and apply power. It will show success by rapidly blinking the front led. Release the reset.. and wait a couple of min for the TC to reset and come back with factory settings. If the front LED doesn’t blink rapidly you missed it and simply try again. The reset is fairly fragile in these.. press it so you feel it just click and no more.. I have seen people bend the lever or even break it. I use a toothpick as tool.