Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

I deleted all backups. Why does iCloud say I still have 1.3GB in backups?

My iCloud storage values didn't add up, so I decided to delete all of the backups (I still have them locally, you can breathe out).

After doing this however, iCloud still reports 1.3GB being taken up by "Backups". Why is this?

User uploaded file

User uploaded file

Posted on Jun 30, 2015 2:36 PM

13 replies

Jul 3, 2015 6:36 PM in response to voncaron

I got through to Apple support, and after a lot of talking to different people it was escalated to engineering.

After a few days the response I got is that because I upgraded to iOS 9 beta on my iPad (I'm a developer), and they don't support betas, they won't look into it further. They also said the backup they can see on their end is from my iPad and is dated around the time I installed the beta, so makes sense.

I'm restoring now back to iOS 8 to see if the backup shows up again in settings. Will keep you updated.

Jul 3, 2015 10:35 PM in response to JeremyTM

I now have iOS 8.4 on my iPad, and the problem still exists. No old backups are appearing.

In the process, I also worked out that the "invisible" backup, which they can see but I can't was made 2 days before I installed iOS 9 beta, so the beta can't be a factor.

I have forwarded this information to Apple and await their response.

Jul 9, 2015 5:05 PM in response to JeremyTM

Ok, so they've confirmed that it's definitely because I installed the iOS9 beta. Even though I reverted to iOS8, iOS9 at some point caused the old backup to enter a 'limbo' state.

They say they will support this by the time iOS9 is released, so we just have to wait. I have a feeling they'll resolve it in one of the upcoming beta releases though.

I hope this helps someone else 🙂

Oct 22, 2016 8:02 PM in response to JeremyTM

Hey guys, recently I have this issue too.