Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

SMTP with SSL completely broken after iOS 8.4 update

Hello,

I'm an admin for a 500 user email system, about 200 of which are iPhones. All users who have updated to 8.4 are unable to connect to our secure SMTP server. This has never been an issue on previous iOS versions (server unchanged since 2011).

The server uses SMTP over SSL, MD5 Ch/Resp on port 587.

The sendmail server is logging the following on connection attempts:

Jul 3 10:30:36 mail1 sm-mta[23928]: STARTTLS=server, error: accept failed=0, SSL_error=5, errno=0, retry=-1

Jul 3 10:30:36 mail1 sm-mta[23928]: t63FUZlI023928: [***IP***] did not issue MAIL/EXPN/VRFY/ETRN during connection to MSA

iOS 8.4

Posted on Jul 3, 2015 8:35 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jul 4, 2015 3:20 AM

I had this too (1 iPhone and iPad). Workaround: switch off the Handoff feature did the trick for me.

17 replies

Jul 6, 2015 7:21 AM in response to NuclearMedia

This from our email provider (Easyspace) has resolved the issue for our team:

Auto detect account settings: off

Outgoing server: smtp.iomartmail.com (this is the easyspace smtp server so you should insert your own)

Outgoing server port: 587

SSL: Off (up until this point iOS 8.4 we always had to have SSL "ON")

Authentication: Password

Allow insecure authentication: on (this isn't an option so we have used password and the same settings as email)

Username: Full email address (this again is how easyspace run usernames so yours might be different)

Password: *********

Kind regards

Martin

Jul 6, 2015 7:50 AM in response to Mjbowdler