Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

What happens to My Music Library in the cloud, if I cancel iTunes Match after subscribing to Apple Music?

I have been subscribing to iTunes Match for a couple of months, so my entire music library is on both the iCloud and My local Storage at the moment.

Now I have also subscribed to Apple Music, and I learned that iCloud Music Library feature offers nearly same function as iTunes Match.

So I feel like there's no point to pay for both service, since I kept my own music files on the local storage. There's no worries for DRM or DRM frees issue in my case, and I am now aware of specific difference btw two services.

Now I am wondering What happens to My Music Library on the cloud after expiration of iTunes Match service period, if I cancel iTunes Music Service.

I could imagine there's 2 possible way:

1. Since My Music Library is already stored on iCloud, it remains there, but iCloud Music Library takes in charge of it after expiration of iTunes Match Service.

2. My Music Library stored on iCloud via iTunes Match Service will be gone after expiration or immediately, and then it will re-upload my entire Library via iCloud Music Library service. So I will have to go through entire upload/match process from the scratch.

I really want no.1 would be the case, but I cannot really imagine how the actual process of transition from iTunes Match to iCloud Music Library would be like.

Any Opinion? or the answer from your experience?

Thank you in advance!

MacBook Pro with Retina display, OS X Yosemite (10.10.4)

Posted on Jul 5, 2015 10:54 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jul 5, 2015 1:41 PM

HI,

FIrstly keep your present local storage, preferably with an additional back up on an external drive.

The main difference between match and Apple music is to do with DRM. This should not be an issue whilst you keep a local copy.