Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

MIDI to USB interface duplicates notes in chords or regular playing

Hey everyone, I bought a MIDI to USB interface to connect my Casio Privia PX-120 to my macbook pro retina and I'm having a problem with it. If I slowly play one note after the other everything is fine, but as long as I play many notes (like playing a regular song), the notes start to duplicate and everything messes up. Same thing happens with chords: when I play a 3 note chord it sounds alright but as soon as I lift my fingers from the keys the notes sound again...Casio doesn't offer any drivers for mac but I downloaded one that I guess is a third party driver...not sure, just saw it online in these forums and decided to give it a go. My interface was quite cheap, the ones with a USB on one side and MIDI IN/OUT on the other.

I'm completely new to the MIDI world and not too experienced in Logic so if anybody knows what's going on please help me! Thanks in advance.

Posted on Jul 6, 2015 9:05 PM

6 replies

Jul 7, 2015 6:26 AM in response to agustinnn

Also.. Reading between the lines in your post.....

If you have both Midi In and Midi Out connected to your Casio...

Find the setting on your Casio to turn Local OFF (See Page E 28 of the Casio's User Guide)

This will then stop you hearing two notes for every one note played.. as I assume you are hearing the notes play the Casio's sound engine... and so you are getting the notes playing the Casio directly from the keyboard and the same notes being looped back from the Computer to the Casio.... duplicating everything.

Note: You will only hear the Casio play when you have it connected to Logic.... If you want to play the Casio in standalone again you will need to unplug the Casio from the Midi interface and turn Local back ON again....

Jul 7, 2015 4:10 PM in response to agustinnn