Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Ethernet connection to lexmark T630

Bare with me as I am complete novice with Macs....but here goes....

I am trying to somply connect a Lexmark T630 to my Mac via Ethernet cable.

Lexmark has the Gateway 192.168.1.1 and IP address 192.168.1.100

My Mac address is 192.168.0.6 connected to NBN modem via wifi (if that is even relevant)

Running OS X Yosemite 10.10.4

I have tried to add the printer and given its ip address and it just cant see it. I can ping it....nothing....

Any clues where I am going wrong. Please note that I have tried to the Gateway 192.168.0.1 and ip address 192.168.0.100 also without success.

Booted and rebooted but who knows if I have done it in the right order. Happy to listen to some experts and follow step by step instructions

Thanks in advance

iMac, OS X Mavericks (10.9.4)

Posted on Jul 8, 2015 3:26 AM

9 replies

Jul 8, 2015 4:13 AM in response to SeaPapp

yes I have done the about thirteen thousand times...although the option to actually reset doesnt appear no matter how much it says it does in those instructions.

When I hold down that alt key and push + I have the option to add a printer (no contextual option that I can see - where do i look?)

When I hold alt and click - then I get to delete a printer.. Ihave deleted and added and deleted and added for no result

Jul 8, 2015 4:29 AM in response to leo2407

Follow these steps carefully and make sure that your Option key is working

Keyboard has one or more keys that do not respond.

Use the Keyboard Viewer to test whether the keyboard keys are responding correctly when they are pressed.