Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How can I clear the album rating for all of my songs?

I just upgraded to iTunes 12.2 and now my individual song ratings seemed to have gotten a grayed out star rating system. It looked peculiar because it seemed to change all of the songs in a particular album. After going through much frustration, I finally came across something in these forums called the "Album Rating". I don't know when this was added to iTunes as I have never used it before, but it is certainly becoming a pest now. I guess I can see the usefulness of this rating, but why Apple would make the Album rating mess with the individual song ratings is beyond me - in fact, I thought it's a bug.

So finally I'm finding the album rating and am able to change it. However I want to clear the album rating for ALL SONGS and so I selected all the songs that have an album rating, and clicked Get Info. Nowhere that I can see is there an option to clear the album rating for all songs.

Does anyone know of a quick way to remove the album rating for all songs without having to go into Album Display mode and change all albums individually?

Apple - can you please put a setting in iTunes to unlink the song and album ratings? This has become a sore spot for me in iTunes and I have loved the software since 2006.

iOS 8.4, itunes 12.2

Posted on Jul 9, 2015 7:52 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jul 12, 2015 4:06 AM

Hi,

I have a potential work around to this, not sure if it will help.

If you find the album in question in your My Music tab in the Artists view you can see the album rating on the right hand side. You can then set the Album rating to zero and it will update all the tracks in that album.

Not sure why Apple have this new bug, it's playing havoc with my playlists!

28 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Jul 12, 2015 4:06 AM in response to ten-d

Hi,