Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Will xserver RAID work?

I am building a small business network to store all my clients photos and videos. I am a Photographer/Videographer. I was about to invest in a NAS, however I am an Apple Fan, and I came across the Xserver RAID 1009. Can this be used as a NAS? My main intention is to house my Aperture Database on the network so that I can access it from any of my Mac's, Also for the (NAS/xserver RAID) to clone my database so that I have a backup.

If none of the above, What are my options with what I intend on doing?

Thanks

Xserve

Posted on Jul 13, 2015 8:48 AM

5 replies

Jul 13, 2015 12:51 PM in response to TriniMastermind

"Can this be used as a NAS?"

No.

The XServe RAID is an example of a Directly Attached Storage (DAS) device and never designed for NAS use. For it to work effectively you will need a host device (the XServe you list in your footer would be ideal) to attach it to. The XServe will need a Host Bus Adapter (HBA) installed and it needs to be Fibre Channel with at least one fibre channel cable that connects the XServe to the XServe RAID.

As it's an obsolete unit you may struggle getting enough ATA/IDE drives for it? Maximum capacity is 750GBs. No Terrabyte drives unless you're prepared to get inventive with IDE-SATA adapters. You should also be aware that as a RAID 5 device you will have only one point of failure, although with the RAID Admin software As it is a RAID you must be aware that it is, by itself, not a back-up. A prudent person wishing to store their important data on it would have a back-up device attached to the host that is large enough to accommodate the amount of data stored.

What are your options? FWIW I would go ahead with your original plan and get a NAS device instead. Plan for the worst possible scenario and make sure you have at least one backup somewhere that you test regularly.

My 2p.