Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Sharing media with time capsule

I have a Time Capsule (summer 2011) which I have been using for backing up our two Macbook Airs. The 128 GB SSD drive is not providing enough space for our pictures/media anymore and I am looking for a long-term solution for the problem. I have been thinking of using my Time Capsule hard drive as a network storage for my iPhoto library (or Photos which I am still learning to use) so that both I and my wife could access the pictures independently anytime. Now I have a couple of questions concerning this:

1. When I import my pictures to iPhoto and edit them, I need to have an internal picture library in my Macbook. Is there an easy way to sync the pictures to the iPhoto library in the Time Capsule (i.e. one-way/one-directional syncing/copying the pictures) after I am done with editing?

2. I would also need to back-up the Time Capsule hard drive (especially the pictures there). I can easily attach an external hard drive to TC, but is there some easy way to back-up the pictures from TC to the external hard drive? If nothing else works, I am fine doing this manually every time I add pictures to TC if the back-uping can be done incrementally.

Any advice is highly appreciated.

Posted on Jul 15, 2015 9:12 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jul 15, 2015 9:28 AM

iPhoto Libraries must not be shared on a network drive. Apple recommends against it, see this document, it also holds for iPhoto.

Use locally mounted Mac OS X Extended volumes for your Aperture library

and

iPhoto: Issues with FAT32-formatted drives - Apple Support

Additionally, storing the iPhoto library on a network rather than locally on your computer can also lead to poor performance or data loss.