Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Sleep Wake Failure, nearly 100%

I have a mid-2012 13" macbook air

8GB Ram, i7 quad core 250GB SSD

I have boot camp/vware with a Windows 7 VM running.

my computer was doing just fine until the last update a week ago and now it crashes constantly,

"your computer was restarted because of a problem..."

the sleep wake Failure report is 74 pages long, so I decided not to post it here, but let me know what information is helpful to solve my problem. I'm no engineer and no guru - I already did the simple things like disk permissions and such, but now I am getting fed up of losing hours of work because this thing is iffy on having the top closed or when it goes into sleep mode.

It also takes an enormous time to save files or scroll through finder/all files when looking for things. It's actually pretty disruptive to work. - Any help is appreciated.

josh

MacBook Air, OS X Yosemite (10.10.4)

Posted on Jul 21, 2015 12:13 PM

5 replies

Jul 23, 2015 10:38 AM in response to jroza1

Hi jroza1,

Thanks for using Apple Support Communities. Based on what you stated, it sounds like you are getting a kernel panic. I would recommend that you read this article, it may be able to help the issue.

OS X: When your computer spontaneously restarts or displays "Your computer restarted because of a problem." - Apple Support

Hardware troubleshooting

Disconnect the external drive used in the above test to determine if the kernel panic is due to a hardware issue.

Check peripheral devices first

Go to the next section if you have no devices attached to your Mac.

1. Turn off your Mac.
  2. Disconnect all peripheral devices. If you have a desktop Mac, make sure all you have connected is a display and Apple keyboard with Apple mouse or trackpad.
  3. Turn on your Mac.
  4. Use your Mac for the amount of time it would usually take for a kernel panic to occur.