Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

When is apple going to fix split stereo files not working in Logic X

I'm a professional user of Logic since version 1.6. In all of the versions on Logic since they incorporated audio you have been able to edit and work with split stereo files. What idiot thought it was a good idea to get rid of that? Some of us work on consoles and need stereo files to be in even/odd pairs of outputs rather than odd even pairs. Some of us even need to disconnect the split files and edit them separately like we've been able to do in every version of Logic up until 10.0.5. Please fix this in the next update.

Posted on Jul 27, 2015 11:07 AM

9 replies

Jul 27, 2015 12:40 PM in response to themusiclabnyc

This is the new procedure in LPX:

LPX will always create an interleaved audio file (Audio Region) when importing a multi-channel audio file that is "formatted". With formatted I mean, a stereo file or any other multi-channel file that uses a surround format (i.e. 5.1). The only exception is if you have a non-formatted multi-channel file, for example a field recorder used in movie production. In that case, Logic extracts the individual channels as individual audio files (Audio Regions). with the option how to place those Regions:

User uploaded file

If you have split mono files with the common channel extensions (.L .R .LS .C etc), then Logic will create an interleaved audio file (Audio Region) when you import such a file.

A cumbersome way to extract split-mono files from a stereo file:

• Import the file
  • In the Project Audio Window, control+click on the the Audio File and select "Copy/convert" command. Choose the "Interleaved to Split" option
  • Very important: don't check the "Add resulting files to Project Audio". This would import the split fils again as an interleaved files.