Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

applescriptobjc object identifier

I have developed an app (some time ago) in Xcode using applescript. I'm adding new features so I need to rework the app using applescriptobjc. I'm new to this version of applescript, and how to properly use it with the objects (buttons/popups). The old Xcode you gave the object a name/identity, and used applescript to to control it. I assume the concept is similar? I can't seem to figure out how/were to give the object a name to be able to control it. I have a popup button, and want to load it with an array.

I have seen examples and understand the what its doing, but the examples never show (that I can see) how the name used in the script connects to a specific object.

set catList to {"next item", "another item", "Items added"}
myPopUp's addItemsWithTitles_(catList)

how would you tell a specific popup button to be "myPopUp"

Hopefully I wasn't confusing, just wanted to be clear.

Posted on Jul 29, 2015 4:35 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jul 29, 2015 5:58 PM

AppleScriptObjC does not use the object name/specifier like AppleScript Studio did (well, the Cocoa bits, anyway), and works a little bit more like Objective-C. Typically what you do is create a property and give it the value "missing value". A property with this value is noticed by Xcode, and shows up in the Interface Builder so that you can connect your object to that outlet. Once connected, the outlet property then contains a reference to the instance of your object.

4 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Jul 29, 2015 5:58 PM in response to Jon Lopiano