Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Connect bluetooth regularly inconsistent

Hi, first time post-er here.

I've been using a MacBook Pro for about 3 years now. I was running Mountain Lion for about 2.5 years and then completely wiped my system and loaded Yosemite after that. You can also factor in that I've had the mainboard replaced, and I assume the mainboard has the bluetooth hardware. In both operating systems and before and after the mainboard replacement I've had a consistent problem with Bluetooth. The problem is when I try and connect a bluetooth device. I can usually get the first pairing/connection to work fine. But subsequent connections are painfully difficult and require 3-5 attempts on average.

In my Mountain Lion days, I was using a bluetooth speaker and experiencing this. The speaker has since broken.

Currently I experience this problem with an Apple Mouse I bought about a month ago.

This morning is a perfect example:

1. Restore laptop from sleep by lifting the cover.
  2. Visual check on bluetooth icon shows that BT is activated.
  3. Mouse is turned off. Turn mouse on, see light blinking.
  4. Click mouse a couple times, move it around, no connection.
  5. Go to bluetooth icon, find mouse, click "Connect" in the menu.
  6. Move mouse around, click click click. Nothing.
  7. After about 10 seconds of clicking, moving, and waiting, repeat steps 4-6

The same thing happened when I had the bluetooth speaker.

System preferences show that no updates are available to my Mac. And frankly the symptoms have been consistent beyond versions and even hardware.

Is Apple just bad at doing bluetooth? Is this just normal bluetooth behavior?

--Annoyed.

Current Specs: OSX Yosemite, 10.10.4, MacBook Pro Rentina

MacBook Pro with Retina display, OS X Yosemite (10.10.4)

Posted on Jul 30, 2015 9:21 AM

3 replies

Aug 1, 2015 9:22 AM in response to kashimcgilloway

Hi kashimcgilloway,